The NFB is committed to respecting your privacy

We use cookies to ensure that our site works efficiently, as well as for advertising purposes.

If you do not wish to have your information used in this way, you can modify your browser settings before continuing your visit.

Learn more
Skip to content

Embed this code on your site

Video player width

by Reset
New release

Miserable Miracle

2023 8 min
Leaving soon

Inspired by the poems and drawings of Henri Michaux, Miserable Miracle takes animation to the breathtaking limits of language and perception.

Sorry this content is not available in your current location.
Your rental expires on
You've already purchased this film.
Download it from My purchases.
Not available
Miserable Miracle


Directed by Japanese filmmaker Ryo Orikasa, the animated short Miserable Miracle was inspired by Henri Michaux’s book of poetry and drawings of the same name. Masterful in both vision and execution, the film explores the limits of language and perception, creating dazzling connections between sound, meaning, shapes and movement. Propelling viewers beyond the page, guided by Tony Robinow’s feverish voiceover, the poems map the human psyche to the very edges of alienation and transcendence.
  • writer
    Ryo Orikasa
  • director
    Ryo Orikasa
  • freely adapted
    Henri Michaud
  • voice
    Tony Robinow
  • art direction
    Ryo Orikasa
  • storyboard
    Ryo Orikasa
  • edit
    Ryo Orikasa
  • animator
    Ryo Orikasa
    Anne Huynh
    Keigo Ito
    Tatsuhiro Ariyoshi
    Yuka Abe
  • colouring
    Alice Sarrauste
    Anaïs Gauchot
    Liang Hsin Huang
    Anna Takagi
    Kohei Saito
    Yuka Abe
    Sijia Luo
    Çağıl Harmandar
    Wen Pang
    Amane Oda
    Yuki Maehata
    Haruka Shimizu
    Shiika Okada
    Akari Higo
  • sound designer
    Sacha Ratcliffe
    Pierre Yves Drapeau
  • music composer
    Sacha Ratcliffe
  • musician
    Andrew Sisk
    J.L. Réginald Bonga
  • foley
    Karla Baumgardner
  • foley assistant
    Lauren Falvo
  • foley recording
    Geoff Mitchell
  • voice recording
    Geoff Mitchell
  • music recording
    Geoff Mitchell
  • re-recording mixer
    Jean Paul Vialard
  • online editor
    Serge Verreault
  • credits design
    Mélanie Bouchard
  • line producer
    Tanguy Olivier
    Carole Faure
    Laetitia Seguin
  • CFO
    Cyril Smet
  • production manager
    Pierre Boivin
    Félix Regnier
    Constance Le Scouarnec
    Emilie Coppier
  • technical manager
    Christian Serres
  • production accountant
    David Dos Santos
  • international co-production manager
    Shoko Takahashi
  • technical director
    Éloi Champagne
  • technical animation support
    Alexandre Roy
  • technical coordinator
    Luc Binette
  • studio operations manager
    Camille Fillion
  • studio administrator
    Victoria Angell
    Rosalina Di Sario
  • senior production coordinator
    Dominique Forget
  • marketing manager
    Judith Lessard-Bérubé
  • publicist
    Nadine Viau
  • interpreter
    Alexe Frédéric Migneault
  • production support
    Atsuko Ohno
  • production assistant
    Mai Doi
  • English translation
    Louise Varese
    Anna Moshovakis
  • producer
    Emmanuel-Alain Raynal
    Pierre Baussaron
    Jelena Popovic
    Robert McLaughlin
    Michael Fukushima
    Nobuaki Doi