The NFB is committed to respecting your privacy

We use cookies to ensure that our site works efficiently, as well as for advertising purposes.

If you do not wish to have your information used in this way, you can modify your browser settings before continuing your visit.

Learn more
Pilots on the Way Home

Pilots on the Way Home

| 16 min

Having suffered the loss of their plane, three pilots inexplicably find themselves stranded in the middle of the desert. While following the perilous and unpredictable course that will ultimately lead them home, they fall prey to visions and must confront the siren call of their own strange fantasies.

With Pilots on the Way Home, Priit and Olga Pärn (Divers in the Rain) have created a new, satirical meditation on male-female relations. The film tackles masculinity and the male psyche with the same pointed sense of the absurd that has marked Priit Pärn’s previous films. Pilots on the Way Home is also a journey through time and space, and to the universal sources of artistic eroticism. Olga Pärn is a master of the art of animating sand, giving Priit Pärn’s unique line drawings a warm and subtle texture reminiscent of etching. Her work is perfectly matched to the impassioned beats of this tale.

This film deals with mature subject matter. Viewer discretion is advised

  • director
    Priit Pärn
    Olga Pärn
  • art director
    Priit Pärn
    Olga Pärn
  • script writer
    Priit Pärn
  • sound designer
    Olivier Calvert
  • music composer
    Robert Marcel Lepage
  • musician
    Jean Derome
    Frédéric Lebrasseur
    François Pilon
    Zoé Dumais
    Marc Papillon
    Jean Sabourin
    Nicolas Borycki
    Jacques Duguay
  • editor
    Priit Pärn
    Olga Pärn
  • character design
    Priit Pärn
  • layout
    Priit Pärn
  • animator
    Priit Pärn
  • sand image, level A
    Priit Pärn
  • sand animation, level B
    Olga Pärn
  • compositing
    Urmas Joemees
    Olga Pärn
  • cameraman
    Urmas Joemees
  • computer graphics
    Triin Paumer
  • digital imaging specialist
    Pierre Plouffe
  • foley
    Lise Wedlock
  • sound recording
    Geoffrey Mitchell
  • mixer
    Serge Boivin
  • online editor
    Denis Gathelier
  • credits designer
    Mélanie Bouchard
  • technical coordinator
    Daniel Lord
  • production assistant
    Kadri Pahla
  • accountant
    Linda Sade
  • legal aid
    Allen-Illimar Putnik
  • administrator
    Diane Régimbald
  • line producer
    Jocelyne Perrier
  • administrative team
    Diane Ayotte
    Karine Desmeules
    Michèle Labelle
    Stéphanie Lalonde
  • marketing manager
    Christine Noël
  • executive producer
    René Chénier
  • producer
    Kalev Tamm
    Julie Roy


Enjoy the NFB experience on your favourite device. 

Embed this code on your site

Video player width

by Reset