The NFB is committed to respecting your privacy

We use cookies to ensure that our site works efficiently, as well as for advertising purposes.

If you do not wish to have your information used in this way, you can modify your browser settings before continuing your visit.

Learn more
Let the Daylight into the Swamp

Let the Daylight into the Swamp

| 36 min

In this experimental short, filmmaker Jeffrey St. Jules reconstructs the story of his grandparents and their rugged frontier existence in the logging towns of Northern Ontario. A blend of fiction and documentary, the film stitches together a fractured family history that is filled with both the joie de vivre and hardships reflective of Franco-Ontarian life.

  • writer
    Jeffrey St. Jules
  • director
    Jeffrey St. Jules
  • producer
    Anita Lee
  • cast
    Sean McCann
    Diana Leblanc
    Pierre Simpson
    Colombe Demers
    Sal Scozzari
    Karlo William
    Alexander Engel
    Massimo Fraschetti
  • executive producer
    Silva Basmajian
  • director of photography
    John Minh Tran
  • stereographer
    Tim Dashwood
  • editor
    Lawrence Jackman
  • additional editing
    Stephen Philipson
    Jeffrey St. Jules
    Matt Chan
  • production designer
    Andrew Berry
  • costume designer
    Marie Grogan Hales
  • music composer
    Darren Fung
  • conductor
    Darren Fung
  • sound recordist
    Sanjay Mehta
  • casting
    John Buchan
    Jason Knight
  • narrator
    Matthew Rankin
  • interviewee
    Maurice St. Jules
    Jean Marchildon
    Sabrina Sutherland
    Naveen St. Jules
    Nick Cowan
    Gary Haines
    Ray May
  • production supervisor
    Mark Wilson
  • production manager
    Janine Heath
  • 1st assistant director
    Alejandro Valbuena
    James Rait
  • senior production coordinator
    Kate Vollum
  • set production coordinator
    Jennifer Mesich
  • technical coordinator
    Marcus Matyas
  • 1st assistant camera
    Pierre Braconnier
  • stereoscopic rig technician
    Mark Bone
  • S3D digital imaging technician
    Ryan Alexander
  • stereoscopic assistant
    Mike Chan
    Max Putintsev
  • script supervisor
    Stacy Scalisi
  • animator
    Vivienne AuYeung
  • assistant animator
    Ashley Hasfal
  • gaffer
    Scott Burton
  • key grip
    Tim Breen
  • 2nd grip
    Chelsea Springay
  • crane operator
    Kevin Bishop
  • props master
    Mike Tessier
  • set decorator
    Sasha Tolstoy
  • scenic builder
    Damian Zuch
    Tina Tsai
    James Vanderkleyn
  • art department production assistant
    Ryan Mackay
    Natasha Diak
    Caitlyn Lusk
  • makeup
    Sarah Craig-McEathron
  • hair styling
    Sarah Craig-McEathron
  • hair assistant
    Lily Champniss
  • wardrobe assistant
    Joyce Schure
  • 3rd assistant director
    Mario Scenna
  • production assistant
    Sara Labadie
    Douglas Godinho
    John Byrne
  • centre administrator
    Josiah Rothenberg
  • marketing manager
    Kelley Alexander
    Melissa Wheeler
  • stills photography
    Kevin Kelly
  • assistant stills photography
    Adam Coish
  • background casting
    Nancy Harrison
  • visual researcher
    Elizabeth Klinck
  • music clearances
    Kathryn Waugh
  • researcher
    John Byrne
    Sheila Mandell
  • animal wrangler
    Jim Lovisek
  • location scout
    Vanessa Shah
    Mary Jane Gomes
  • craft service
    Nancy Mackay
    Jessica Patridge
  • stereoscopic VFX
    Tim Dashwood
  • post supervisor
    Tim Dashwood
  • stereoscopic visual effects
    Ryan Alexander
  • executive
    Paul Rapovski
  • supervising sound designer
    Daniel Pellerin
  • dialogue editor
    Rob Hutchins
  • narration editor
    Rob Hutchins
  • ADR editor
    Rob Hutchins
  • effects design
    Daniel Hammond
  • effects editing
    Daniel Hammond
  • original sound design
    James Mark Stewart
  • narration recording
    Chris Guglick
  • ADR recording
    Chris Guglick
  • music recording assistant
    John MacLean
  • music editor
    Matt Chan
    Dennis Patterson
  • re-recording
    Daniel Pellerin
    Matt Chan
  • music mixer
    Daniel Pellerin
    Matt Chan
  • studio assistant
    Dan Cherkas
  • studio coordinator
    Jennifer Renaud
  • 3D picture projection co-ordinator
    Carlos Herrera
    Oren Edenson
  • 3D picture projection consultant
    Carlos Herrera
    Oren Edenson
  • music recording engineer
    Dennis Patterson
  • assistant conductor
    Lee Harrison
  • musician
    John Robinson Young
    Mary-Katherine Finch
    Stephen Krueger
    Chreyl Duvall
    Veronique Drozdz


Embed this code on your site

Video player width

by Reset