The NFB is committed to respecting your privacy

We use cookies to ensure that our site works efficiently, as well as for advertising purposes.

If you do not wish to have your information used in this way, you can modify your browser settings before continuing your visit.

Learn more
The Museum

The Museum

| 1 h 30 min

This feature documentary follows William Thorsell as he sets out to renovate Toronto's Royal Ontario Museum. He thinks big, opting for a bold architectural gesture that will inject a shot of amphetamine into the staid and sensible veins of Canada's biggest burg. Enter Daniel Libeskind, the celebrity architect linked to the Ground Zero site and other prestigious building projects. Smartly tuned to contemporary debates on public architecture, The Museum charts their grand scheme in an entertaining tale of ego, art and steel beams.

  • narrator
    Colm Feore
  • producer
    Kenton Vaughan
    Gordon Henderson
    Silva Basmajian
  • director
    Kenton Vaughan
  • writer
    Kenton Vaughan
  • editor
    Greg West
  • director of photography
    Mark Caswell
    Mark Ellam
    Christopher Romeike
  • production supervisor
    Jennifer Punter
  • production manager
    Susanne Cuffe
  • assistant director
    Jennifer Punter
    Neal Eskin-Kahler
  • additional editing
    Carole Larsen
  • original music
    David Wall
  • additional photography
    John Badcock
    Jonathan Bensimon
    Craig Chivers
    Ed Fabray
    Michael Grippo
    Jamie Kastner
    George Lajtai
    Klaus Laurtenbacher
    Robin McKenna
    Finbarr O'Reilly
    Mike Sheerin
    John Tran
    Kenton Vaughan
    Darek Zdzienicki
  • field sound recordist
    Scott Chappel
    Brent Haliskie
    Michael Kennedy
    Ao Loo
    Mike MacClymont
    Jan McCharles
    Steve McNamee
    Brendan Michie
    Jason Milligan
    Gary Oppenheimer
    Zoltan Ravasz
    Bob Salter
    Adrian Tucker
  • sound design
    Grant Edmonds
  • sound re-recording
    Mike Duncan
  • production assistant
    Jeff Desmarais
    Carl Elster
    Marina Hanna
    Zaheed Mawani
    Alexis Mitchell
    Stephen Morris
    Dylan Reibling
    Thomas Rogers
    William Shand
    Regan Shaw
    Natasha Sweeney
    Adam Thompson
    James Tiernay
    Sara Tune
  • assistant editor
    Jen Cybulski
    Dominique Naipaul
    Kenton Vaughan
  • production co-ordinator
    Lisa Broadfoot
    Nadine Simunic
    Sam Ruano
  • graphics
    Nathan Sheilds
  • still photography
    Kevin Kelly
  • key grip
    Wendell Collier
    Joe Turner
  • driver
    Gord Mills
  • executive producer
    Gordon Henderson
    Silva Basmajian


Enjoy the NFB experience on your favourite device. 

The Museum
Also available

Embed this code on your site

Video player width

by Reset