The NFB is committed to respecting your privacy

We use cookies to ensure that our site works efficiently, as well as for advertising purposes.

If you do not wish to have your information used in this way, you can modify your browser settings before continuing your visit.

Learn more
Skip to content

Embed this code on your site

Video player width

by Reset
New release

WaaPaKe Tomorrow

2023 1 h 20 min
Leaving soon

Dr. Jules Arita Koostachin’s deeply personal documentary unravels the tangled threads of silence suffered by residential school Survivors through truth, freedom and power.

Sorry this content is not available in your current location.
Your rental expires on
You've already purchased this film.
Download it from My purchases.
Not available
WaaPaKe Tomorrow


For generations, the suffering of residential school Survivors has radiated outward, impacting Indigenous families and communities. Dr. Jules Arita Koostachin’s deeply personal documentary WaaPaKe (Tomorrow) moves beyond intergenerational trauma, with an invitation to unravel the tangled threads of silence and unite in collective freedom and power.
  • writer
    Jules Arita Koostachin
  • director
    Jules Arita Koostachin
  • producer
    Teri Snelgrove
  • line producer
    Jennifer Roworth
  • director of photography
    Michael Bourquin
  • editor
    Jessica Dymond
  • composer
    Justin Delorme
  • featuring
    Rita Okimawinninew
    Asivak Koostachin
    Joseph Dandurand
    Maisie Smith
    Jules Arita Koostachin
    Pawaken Koostachin-Chakasim
    Tapwewin Koostachin-Chakasim
    Mahiigan Koostachin
    Connor Nichol
    Lynn Power
  • production manager
    Angie Nolan
  • sound recordist
    Ramsay Bourquin
    Kaitlyn Redcrow
  • additional photography
    Cameron Watts
    Asivak Koostachin
  • camera operator
    Cameron Watts
  • grip
    Joey Aleck
  • production designer
    Yolonda Skelton
  • title designer
    James Monkman
  • motion graphics designer
    James Monkman
  • key hair
    Sheleah Bradley
    Courtney Yellow-Quill
  • makeup artist
    Sheleah Bradley
    Courtney Yellow-Quill
  • production coordinator
    Nathan Conchie
    Jas Calcitas
    Maddy Chang
  • production assistant
    Alexandra Knowles
    Sarah Kelley
    Mike Nichols
    Richard Wilson
    Bárbara Rafaela Guimaraes Costa
  • indigenous registered clinical counsellor
    Lynn Power
  • researcher
    Erika MacPherson
    Angie Nolan
  • sound designer
    Humberto Corte
  • re-recording mixer
    Isabelle Lussier
  • dialogue editor
    Andrea Velarde Mosquera
  • background editor
    James Neves
  • colourist
    Serge Verreault
  • graphic artist
    Bun Lee
  • technical coordinator
    Wes Machnikowski
  • marketing manager
    Kay Rondonneau
  • publicist
    Katja De Bock
  • studio administrator
    Carla Jones
  • executive producer
    Shirley Vercruysse
WaaPaKe Tomorrow
Also available
Already paid to see this film?