The NFB is committed to respecting your privacy

We use cookies to ensure that our site works efficiently, as well as for advertising purposes.

If you do not wish to have your information used in this way, you can modify your browser settings before continuing your visit.

Learn more

These provocative 20-minute movies made by high school students provide an insider's look at youth culture. Made by four 17-year-old directors with help from a professional crew, Salt is a four-part filmzine: four films, four flavours, four windows into youth culture that explore alternative education, Montreal's flourishing independent music scene, the troubling practice of self-mutilation and a quest for the punk subculture.

This film deals with mature subject matter. Viewer discretion is advised

  • camera
    Alex Margineanu
  • sound
    Jason Campbell
  • picture editing
    Jules Collette
    Marlo Miazga
    Louise Leroux
  • digital imaging
    Jean-François Vézina
    Amber Goodwyn
  • sound editing
    Jason Campbell
  • original music
    Dominique Grand
    Sylvain Grand
  • additional music
    Julie Doiron
    Wooden Stars, The
    Tiger Wang
    Ripcordz, The
  • additional camera
    Yoan Cart
    Jules Collette
    François Vincelette
  • additional sound
    Simon Goulet
  • music recording
    Wild Sky
  • re-recording
    Serge Boivin
    Jean Paul Vialard
  • online editing
    Denis Pilon
  • archival research
    Françoise de La Cressonnière
  • participant
    Dennis Trudeau
    Patricia Rodriguez
    Aaron Goodwyn
    Adam Caplan
    Kelly King
    Lee Springer
    Angelo Komatsoulis
    Elizabeth Wood
    Chamandy Family, The
    Nisha Nathani
    Melissa Auf der Maur
    Erin Ross
    Julie Doiron
    Jon Claytor
    Ben Claytor
    Charlotte Claytor
    Dan McKell
    Tiger Wang
    Isabelle Cox
    Borza Gomeshi
    Robert Ouimet
    Agatha de Santis
    Mélanie Bénard
    Natalia Yanchak
    Julien Beillard
    Jonathan Latour
    Michael Feuerstack
    Andrew McCormack
    Alex Bozikovic
    Paul Assaly
    Pierre Black
    Lior Scheer
    Lauraine Leblanc
    Gabrielle Carlier
    Paul Gott
    Jean-François Rioux
    Kristy Chabot
    Stéphane Viau
    Téo L. Blackburn
    Sharon Erskine
  • program administrator
    Gisèle Guilbault
  • technical coordinator
    Éric Barbeau
    Richard Lesage
  • director
    Amber Goodwyn
    Morgan Gage
    Karen Shamy-Smith
    Beverly Brown
  • supervising director
    Louise Leroux
  • associate producer
    Rick Blackburn
  • producer
    Pierre Lapointe
  • executive producer
    David Verrall


Enjoy the NFB experience on your favourite device. 

Also available

Embed this code on your site

Video player width

by Reset