The NFB is committed to respecting your privacy

We use cookies to ensure that our site works efficiently, as well as for advertising purposes.

If you do not wish to have your information used in this way, you can modify your browser settings before continuing your visit.

Learn more
The Peacekeepers

The Peacekeepers

| 1 h 23 min

In this documentary, Paul Cowan delivers unprecedented access to the United Nations Department of Peacekeeping, and the determined and often desperate manoeuvres to avert another Rwandan disaster, this time in the Democratic Republic of Congo (the DRC). The film cuts back and forth between the United Nations headquarters in New York and events on the ground in the DRC. We are with the peacekeepers in the 'Crisis Room' as they balance the risk of loss of life on the ground with the enormous sums of money required from uncertain donor countries. We are with UN troops as the northeast Congo erupts and the future of the DRC, if not all of central Africa, hangs in the balance. As Secretary General Kofi Annan tells the General Assembly at the conclusion of The Peacekeepers: "History is a harsh judge. The world will not forgive us if we do nothing." Whether the world's peacekeeper did enough remains to be seen.

This film contains scenes of violence. Viewer discretion is advised.

  • director
    Paul Cowan
  • photography
    Paul Cowan
  • writer
    Paul Cowan
  • editor
    Hannele Halm
  • sound
    Craig Lapp
  • original music
    Jean Mallet
  • narrator
    Karen Feiertag
  • producer
    Adam Symansky
    Paul Saadoun
  • executive producer
    Éric Michel
  • archival management
    Elizabeth Klinck
  • stock shot research
    Elizabeth Klinck
    Bonnie G. Rowan
  • research consultant
    Virginie Millière
  • additional camera
    Andrew Harding
    Phil Davies
    Craig Lapp
    Albert Liesgang
    Isabelle Abric
  • additional sound
    Lawrence Loewinger
    Roger Phenix
    William Tzouris
    Merce Williams
  • location manager
    Issac Ngwenza
  • translation
    Claude Dionne
  • subtitles
    Claude Dionne
  • sound editor
    Claude Chevalier
  • mixing
    Serge Boivin
    Shelley Craig
  • digital editing technician
    Phyllis Lewis
    Mirenda Ouellet
  • image processing
    Mathieu Desbiens
    Denis Bergeron
  • HD conversion
    Mathieu Desbiens
    Denis Bergeron
  • titles
    Benoît Chagnon
  • online editor
    Denis Pilon
  • post-production co-ordinator
    Claude Cardinal
  • administration of production
    Maryse Chapdelaine
  • administration assistant
    Brigitte Couture
    Isabelle de Bellefeuille
    Luce Gonthier
    Daniel Gosselin
  • associate producer
    Joanne Carrière
  • production team
    Danièle Borg
    Fabien Boutron
    Catherine Frebourg
    Marie-Christine Gely
    Malik Menaï
    Sandra Moella
    Véronique Rabuteau
  • documentary unit
    Thierry Garrel
    Pierrette Ominetti


Enjoy the NFB experience on your favourite device. 


Pedagogical evaluations and study guides for this work are only available to CAMPUS subscribers.


Features designed specifically for teachers. Learn more

Already subscribed? Sign in

Embed this code on your site

Video player width

by Reset