nîpawistamâsowin: We Will Stand Up (52 minutes)

nîpawistamâsowin: We Will Stand Up (52 minutes)

| 52 min

On August 9, 2016, a young Cree man named Colten Boushie died from a gunshot to the back of his head after entering Gerald Stanley’s rural property with his friends. The jury’s subsequent acquittal of Stanley captured international attention, raising questions about racism embedded within Canada’s legal system and propelling Colten’s family to national and international stages in their pursuit of justice. Sensitively directed by Tasha Hubbard, nîpawistamâsowin: We Will Stand Up weaves a profound narrative encompassing the filmmaker’s own adoption, the stark history of colonialism on the Prairies, and a vision of a future where Indigenous children can live safely on their homelands. See the full version here.

This film contains scenes of violence. Viewer discretion is advised.

Embed this code on your site

Video player width

by (( height )) Reset

Credits not available

  • None

    in order to share this with my online classes during Covid 19, do I just embed the link? Is that the same as cutting and pasting the link?

    None, 1 May 2020