The Dark Years - Episode 3

The Dark Years - Episode 3

| 46 min

Also available

A look at the impact of the Great Depression years on Canada and its people. What started with an economic crash in 1929 would end only with the guns of World War II. Of the many stories and legacies of the Great Depression, perhaps its greatest is that it created a modern Canada: more questioning of the power of government, inclined toward social policies like welfare and health care, and prepared to play a role in international affairs and economies.

Pedagogical evaluations and study guides are only available to CAMPUS subscribers.


Features designed specifically for teachers. Learn more

Already subscribed? Sign in

Embed this code on your site

The Dark Years - Episode 3, Steven Silver, provided by the National Film Board of Canada

Video player width

by Reset
  • director
    Steven Silver
  • animation director
    John Halfpenny
    Firas Momani
  • writer
    Steve Lucas
  • producer
    Laszlo Barna
    Chuck Gammage Animation Inc.
    Gerry Flahive
  • executive producer
    Laszlo Barna
    Steven Silver
    Silva Basmajian
  • original idea
    Sydney Suissa
  • story producer
    Barbara Sears
  • animation services
    Chuck Gammage Animation Inc.
  • cast
    Maury Chaykin
    David Fox
    Eric Peterson
    Michael Hanrahan
    Fiona Reid
    James Rankin
    Ron Lea
    Adrian Egan
    Marc Strange
    Blair Williams
    Chris Earl
    Patrick Garrow
    Dave Broadfoot
    Micheline Marchildon
    Brendan Wall
    David Sparrow
    Andy Velasquez
    René Lemieux
    Judy Sinclair
    Grey Powell
    Danny Wells
    Addison Bell
  • editor
    Nick Hector
  • sound design
    Daniel Pellerin
    James Mark Stewart
  • mixing supervisor
    Daniel Pellerin
  • music composer
    Mark Korven
    Cathy Nosaty
  • series producer
    Janice Tufford
  • line producer
    Sarah James
  • casting director
    Lisa Baylin
  • camera
    Richard A. Stringer
  • original research
    Barbara Sears
  • head of visual research
    Elspeth Domville
  • visual researcher
    Mark Faassen
    Kathie McKenna
  • post-production supervisor
    Sean Frewer
  • online editor
    Kevin Vienneau
  • sound editor
    Geoff Raffan
    Daniel Hamood
  • production coordinator
    Jeffrey R. Smith
    Jason Lambert
    Julie Otten
  • production accountant
    JC Caveen
    Esther Scannel
    Bonnie Corey
  • accounting assistant
    Vjera Hlozan
  • visual research assistant
    Sheetal Rawal
  • sound editing assistant
    Rob Hutchins
  • re-recording mixer
    Jan Rudy
  • foley artist
    Stefan Fraticelli
  • foley recordist
    Randy Wilson
  • mixing facility
    Theatre D Digital
  • voice recording studio
    Media Fusion
  • foley studio
    JRS Productions
  • animation producer
    France Daigle
  • storyboard
    Naeim Khavari
    John Flagg
    Louis Solis
    John Halfpenny
  • background painter
    Clive Powsey
    Maureen Paxton
    Lynda Lyons
    Mei Tsao
  • character design
    John Halfpenny
  • art direction
    John Halfpenny
  • additional design
    Rex Hackelberg
  • character builder
    Michael Helmer
    Boris Maras
  • layouts
    Pasquale Lamontagna
  • traditional animation
    Chuck Gammage
  • traditional animation assistant
    Kenny Yang
  • Flash animation
    Jason Condon
    Chris Hudson
    Tony Truong
    Pasquale Lamontagna
    Chris Land
    Louis Solis
    Katherine MacDonald
    Boris Maras
    Robin Hall
    Lisa Whittick
    Sean Wickett
    Rachel Peters
    James Stewart
  • Flash animation assistant
    Tapan Gandhi
    Matthew Kalinauskas
    Eduardo Avenir
    Christina Lau
  • compositor
    Alexandre Iliach
    Jennifer Duczmal
    Charlie Hughes
    Seamus O'Keefe
  • off-line editor
    Dante Media Group
    Al Piazza
  • head of documentary production
    Pim van der Toorn
  • post-production accounting
    Marina Godovich
  • executive assistant
    Cassandra Colbere
    Samir Mohamedali
    Rayne Zukerman
  • business affairs
    Julie Fitz-Gerald
    Julie Venerus
    Vanessa Steinmetz
    Philip Svoboda
  • vice-president of business affairs
    Elysse Goldman
  • general counsel
    Elysse Goldman
  • vice-president of production
    Nicole Butler
  • vice-president of programming
    Loren Mawhinney
  • supervising executive
    Margaret O'Brien