The NFB is committed to respecting your privacy

We use cookies to ensure that our site works efficiently, as well as for advertising purposes.

If you do not wish to have your information used in this way, you can modify your browser settings before continuing your visit.

Learn more
The Road Forward

The Road Forward

| 1 h 41 min

The Road Forward, a musical documentary by Marie Clements, connects a pivotal moment in Canada’s civil rights history—the beginnings of Indian Nationalism in the 1930s—with the powerful momentum of First Nations activism today. The Road Forward’s stunningly shot musical sequences, performed by an ensemble of some of Canada’s finest vocalists and musicians, seamlessly connect past and present with soaring vocals, blues, rock, and traditional beats. A rousing tribute to the fighters for First Nations rights, a soul-resounding historical experience, and a visceral call to action.

  • writer
    Marie Clements
  • director
    Marie Clements
  • producer
    Shirley Vercruysse
  • editor
    Jenn Strom
  • composer
    Wayne Lavallee
  • director of photography
    Mike Mckinlay
  • production designer
    James Boatman
  • sound designer
    Troy Slocum
  • costume designer
    Chelsea Graham
  • story song cast
    Leonard George
    Evan Leslie Adams
    Ronnie Dean Harris
    Wayne Lavallee
    Jeremy James Lavallee
    Stephen E. Miller
    Latash-Maurice Nahanee
    Corey Payette
    Murray Porter
    Russell Wallace
    Patti Allan
    Glen Andrew Brkich
    William J. Croft
    Amber Georgeson
    Kimowin Lavallee
    Cheri Maracle
    Joseph Patrick Keating
    Shakti Hayes
    Makwa Kewistep
    Pawaken Koostachin-Chakasim
    Delhia Nahanee
    Shekayah Lynn Silvey
    Michelle St. John
    Jennifer Elizabeth Kreisberg
    Doreen Manuel
    Imajyn Cardinal
    Richard E. Brown
    Shamantsut Amanda Nahanee
    Marissa Nahanee
  • documentary subject
    Edwin Newman
    Henry Clifton
    Latash-Maurice Nahanee
    Thomas Berger
    Wayne Lavallee
    Richard E. Brown
    Russell Wallace
    Jeremy James Lavallee
    Ronnie Dean Harris
    Murray Porter
    Corey Payette
    Vera Newman
    Karen Jeffery
    Delhia Nahanee
    Moira Movanna
    Marissa Nahanee
    Cheri Maracle
    Shakti Hayes
    Michelle St. John
    Jennifer Elizabeth Kreisberg
    Shamantsut Amanda Nahanee
    Doreen Manuel
    Vicki Lynne George
    Lorna Williams
    Shelby-Lynn Davis
    Marion Erickson
    Stephanie Erickson
    Morgan George
    Karista Olson
    Lorretta J. Pelletier
    Joan B. Sutherland
    Jody Thomas
    Ashley Wilson
    Martha Wilson
    Bonnie Wisla
  • associate producer
    Teri Snelgrove
  • production supervisor
    Jennifer Roworth
  • studio administrator
    Carla Jones
  • technical coordinator
    Wes Machnikowski
  • production coordinator
    Kathleen Jayme
    Justin Mah
    Kristyn Stilling
  • production manager
    Nick Wade
    Caroline Coutts
  • 1st assistant director
    Kate Weiss
  • 2nd assistant director
    Matthew Tingey
  • sound recordist
    Brent Calkin
    Jeff Henschel
  • boom operator
    Lisa Kolisnyk
  • sound assistant
    Daphne Chung
  • assistant production designer
    Andrew Pommier
  • set decorator
    Rebecca Sjonger
    Sancha Alicia Tatlock
  • assistant set decorator
    Hunter Cheveldave
    Graham Talbot
    Manzoor Ahmed Wani
  • head of props
    Dana Dolezsar
  • props assistant
    Kasha Toolsee
  • 1st assistant camera
    Lukas Fournier
    Wes Machnikowski
    Margot Guirado
  • 2nd assistant camera
    Mikael Bidard
    Odessa Shuquaya
  • 2nd camera operator
    Jared Brendan Boyce
    Daniel Rocque
  • digital technician
    George Faulkner
  • key grip
    Owen Stambuck
  • gaffer
    Paul T. Murakami
  • grip / electric swing
    Terrance Azzuolo
  • movement coach
    Wendy Gorling
  • script supervisor
    Nisha Platzer
  • wardrobe assistant
    Kevin Eade
    Mika Laulainen
  • hair
    Ashley Seymour
  • makeup
    Ashley Seymour
  • hairstylist
    Magdalena Kelly
  • hair assistant
    Keesha Dawson-Harrison
  • makeup assistant
    Keesha Dawson-Harrison
  • location manager
    Nick Wade
    Odessa Shuquaya
  • location scout
    Rachael Dudley
  • location assistant
    April Johnson
    Kassia O'Connor
  • craft service
    Stefan A. Skoronski
  • researcher
    Thanh Nguyen
    Amanda Burke
    Mary Doherty
    Sandra Mendenhall
    Paula Sawadsky
    Paloma Hazel Pacheco
  • transcription
    Tracy Sitter
  • stills photographer
    Rosamond Norbury
  • production assistant
    Colin Van Loon
    Richard Wilson
    Milena Salazar
  • story editor
    Paula Danckert
  • extras casting
    Rosemary A. Georgeson
  • community coordinator
    Janet Rogers
  • visual effects supervisor
    Jenn Strom
  • animation supervisor
    Jenn Strom
  • animator
    Prajay Mehta
    Elisa Chee
    Jenny Breukelman
    Jenn Strom
  • visual effects artist
    Jenn Strom
    Bun Lee
    Trevor Gent
    Jenny Breukelman
  • storyboard artist
    Lauren Budd
  • online editor
    Serge Verreault
  • re-recording mixer
    Jean Paul Vialard
  • marketing manager
    Leslie Stafford
  • publicist
    Katja De Bock
  • executive producer
    Shirley Vercruysse


Enjoy the NFB experience on your favourite device. 


Ages 15 to 18

History and Citizenship Education - Civil Rights and Freedoms
Indigenous Studies - History/Politics
Indigenous Studies - Identity/Society
Indigenous Studies - Issues and Contemporary Challenges

Comment on the filmmaker’s decision to make The Road Forward a musical documentary. Discuss why the publication The Native Voice was considered so unusual and innovative for its time. Indigenous youth are often considered “at risk youth” when they are actually “culturally deprived youth.” Explain what strategies can effect changes in the education of Indigenous youth. Identify what the Constitution Express was and explain its significance in the history of Indigenous activism. What are the key concerns in Indigenous activism today?

The Road Forward
Purchase options
Already paid to see this film?

Embed this code on your site

Video player width

by Reset