Men of the Deeps

Men of the Deeps

| 51 min

Men of the Deeps is a moving portrait of a group of former Cape Breton miners gathered together by their love of song. They are all members of the Men of the Deeps chorus, whose performances of traditional and contemporary songs evoke their working lives as miners.

Pedagogical evaluations and study guides are only available to CAMPUS subscribers.


Features designed specifically for teachers. Learn more

Already subscribed? Sign in

Embed this code on your site

Men of the Deeps, John Walker, provided by the National Film Board of Canada

Video player width

by Reset
  • writer
    John Walker
  • director
    John Walker
  • producer
    Terry Greenlaw
    Kent Martin
    John Walker
  • editor
    Hannele Halm
  • cinematographer
    John Walker
  • sound recordist
    Alex Salter
  • production manager
    Howard Hutton
  • researcher
    Holly Conners
    Wendie Muise
  • camera operator
    Russell Gienapp
  • additional cinematography
    Russell Gienapp
  • camera assistant
    Kyle Cameron
    Robin L.P. Bain
    Dominique Gusset
  • music recordist
    David Hillier
  • boom operator
    Chuck Clark
  • gaffer
    Robert Petrie
  • key grip
    Kevin MacNeil
  • additional sound recording
    Jane Porter
  • Savoy theatre
    Donald Ferguson
  • technical director
    Dave Bailey
  • location manager
    Wendie Muise
  • conductor
    John C. O'Donnell
  • business manager
    Yogi Muise
  • choir
    Tony Aucoin
    Gerald Burke
    Fred Gillis
    Carmen Hughes
    Mickey MacIntyre
    Nipper MacLeod
    Billy MacPherson
    Don Matheson
    Marshall Poirier
    Eddie Tighe
    Jackie Beaton
    Kevin Edwards
    Matt Hawley
    Jude Kelly
    Jim MacLellan
    Shane MacLeod
    Jack MacQueen
    Melvin Mugford
    Bob Roper
    Tommy Tighe
    Sen White
    Matt Breski
    Jerry Forbes
    Ray Holland
    Ike Lambert
    John MacLeod
    Philip MacNeil
    Alf Matheson
    Yogi Muise
    Gordon Sheriff
    Paul White
  • on camera interview
    Charlotte Beaton
    Michael Bresowar
    Trudy Forbes
    Jude Kelly
    Jackie Beaton
    Fred Currie
    Joanne Stephenson-Gillis
    Doe Lambert
    Ken Boutilier
    Wishie Donovan
    Darrell Kelly
    Ike Lambert
    Mickey MacIntyre
    Billy MacPherson
    Henry Meery
    Harvey Ross
    Eddie Tighe
    Jim MacLellan
    Wesley Murphy
    Marshall Poirier
    Bill Ross
    Nipper MacLeod
    Eldon Meery
    Bob Roper
    Polly Tighe
    Tommy Tighe
  • post-production coordinator
    Brenda Kovrig
  • music clearances
    Elizabeth Klinck
  • sound editor
    Alex Salter
  • re-recording mixer
    Lou Solakofsky
    Martin Lee
  • colourist
    Sue Chambers
    Joanne Rourke
    Judy Paul
  • online editor
    Andrew Mandziuk
  • negative cutting
    Catherine Rankin
  • assistant picture editor
    Sandi King
  • production stills
    Dan Callis
  • production accountant
    Michael Foy
    Jan Anthony
  • program administrator
    John William Lutz
  • technical coordinator
    Claude Cardinal
    Patricia Coughran

The NFB is committed to respecting your privacy

We use cookies to ensure that our site works efficiently, as well as for advertising purposes. If you do not wish to have your information used in this way, you can modify your browser settings before continuing your visit.

Learn more