The NFB is committed to respecting your privacy

We use cookies to ensure that our site works efficiently, as well as for advertising purposes.

If you do not wish to have your information used in this way, you can modify your browser settings before continuing your visit.

Learn more
The Dark Years - Episode 1

The Dark Years - Episode 1

| 46 min
The Dark Years - Episode 1
Also available
Already paid to see this film?

A look at the impact of the Great Depression years on Canada and its people. What started with an economic crash in 1929 would end only with the guns of World War II. Of the many stories and legacies of the Great Depression, perhaps its greatest is that it created a modern Canada: more questioning of the power of government, inclined toward social policies like welfare and health care, and prepared to play a role in international affairs and economies.

  • director
    Steven Silver
  • animation director
    John Halfpenny
    Firas Momani
  • writer
    Steve Lucas
  • producer
    Laszlo Barna
    Chuck Gammage Animation Inc.
    Gerry Flahive
  • executive producer
    Laszlo Barna
    Steven Silver
    Silva Basmajian
  • original idea
    Sydney Suissa
  • story producer
    Barbara Sears
  • animation services
    Chuck Gammage Animation Inc.
  • cast
    Maury Chaykin
    Eric Peterson
    David Fox
    Michael Hanrahan
    Zachary Bennett
    Blair Williams
    Ivan Sherry
    Patrick Garrow
    Chuck Shamata
    Jeff Roop
    Drew Nelson
    Martin Doyle
    Elva Mai Hoover
    Jonathan Higgins
    Adrian Egan
    Shaun Austin-Olsen
    Dmitryi Chepovetski
    George R. Robertson
    Chris Earle
    Corinne Conley
  • editor
    Nick Hector
  • sound design
    Daniel Pellerin
    James Mark Stewart
  • mixing supervisor
    Daniel Pellerin
  • music composer
    Mark Korven
    Cathy Nosaty
  • series producer
    Janice Tufford
  • line producer
    Sarah James
  • casting director
    Lisa Baylin
  • camera
    Richard A. Stringer
  • original research
    Barbara Sears
  • head of visual research
    Elspeth Domville
  • visual researcher
    Mark Faassen
    Kathie McKenna
  • post-production supervisor
    Sean Frewer
  • online editor
    Kevin Vienneau
  • sound editor
    Geoff Raffan
    Brian Schwarz
  • production coordinator
    Jeffrey R. Smith
    Jason Lambert
    Julie Otten
    Alexis Victor
  • production accountant
    JC Caveen
    Esther Scannel
    Bonnie Corey
  • accounting assistant
    Vjera Hlozan
  • visual research assistant
    Sheetal Rawal
    Gosia Stechman
    Stefan Tobolka
  • sound editing assistant
    Rob Hutchins
  • re-recording mixer
    Jan Rudy
  • foley artist
    Stefan Fraticelli
  • foley recordist
    Randy Wilson
  • mixing facility
    Theatre D Digital
  • voice recording studio
    Media Fusion
  • foley studio
    JRS Productions
  • animation producer
    France Daigle
    Genna Du Plessis
  • background painter
    Clive Powsey
  • character design
    John Halfpenny
  • art direction
    John Halfpenny
  • storyboard
    Chris Land
    Pasquale Lamontagna
    Michael Geiger
  • design
    Chris Land
    Rex Hackelberg
    Trevor Deane-Freeman
  • character builder
    Michael Helmer
  • layout
    Pasquale Lamontagna
  • traditional animation
    Chuck Gammage
    Chris Land
    Michael Helmer
    Kyung Hee Baker
    Michelle Heo
    Kenny Yang
    James McCrimmon
    Ron Chevrier
  • design assistant
    Michael Helmer
    Kyung Hee Baker
    Michelle Heo
    Kenny Yang
    James McCrimmon
    Ron Chevrier
  • traditional effects animation
    Lorenzo Delbianco
    Raymond Pang
  • Flash animation
    Chris Land
    Pasquale Lamontagna
    Jason Condon
    Lisa Whittick
    Sean Scott
    Sean Wickett
    Boris Maras
    Robin Hall
    Michael Geiger
    James Stewart
    Paul Teglas
    Jason McArthur
  • after effects animation
    Max Piersig
    Diego Bergia
  • compositor
    Alexandre Iliach
    Jennifer Duczmal
    Charlie Hughes
    Seamus O'Keefe
  • off-line editor
    Al Piazza
  • Flash animation assistant
    Eduardo Avenir
    Matthew Kalinauskas
    Tapan Gandhi
    Christina Lau
  • pipeline setup
    Gene Dreitser
  • pipeline consulting
    Gene Dreitser
  • head of documentary production
    Pim van der Toorn
  • post-production accounting
    Marina Godovich
  • executive assistant
    Cassandra Colbere
    Samir Mohamedali
    Rayne Zukerman
  • business affairs
    Julie Fitz-Gerald
    Julie Venerus
    Vanessa Steinmetz
    Philip Svoboda
  • vice-president of business affairs
    Elysse Goldman
  • general counsel
    Elysse Goldman
  • vice-president of production
    Nicole Butler
  • vice-president of programming
    Loren Mawhinney
  • supervising executive
    Margaret O'Brien



Pedagogical evaluations and study guides for this work are only available to CAMPUS subscribers.


Features designed specifically for teachers. Learn more

Already subscribed? Sign in

Embed this code on your site

Video player width

by Reset