The NFB is committed to respecting your privacy

We use cookies to ensure that our site works efficiently, as well as for advertising purposes.

If you do not wish to have your information used in this way, you can modify your browser settings before continuing your visit.

Learn more
The Cabinet of Doctor Ferron

The Cabinet of Doctor Ferron

| 1 h 21 min

This feature-length documentary focuses on acclaimed novelist, playwright, essayist, political gadfly, and practicing doctor, Jacques Ferron. Using a combination of fiction and biography, the filmmaker takes viewers on a pilgrimage into the life and fictional world of the prolific author. The film reveals a complex and appealing man who was a Quebec nationalist, an ironic polemicist, and an anguished humanist devoted to social and political justice.

  • script
    Jean-Daniel Lafond
  • director
    Jean-Daniel Lafond
  • producer
    Yves Bisaillon
  • director of photography
    Michel La Veaux
  • sound
    Richard Lavoie
  • participation
    Madeleine Lavallée-Ferron
    Martine Ferron
    Robert Millet
    Jacques Prince
    Paul Ferron
    Marcelle Ferron
    Madeleine Ferron
    Pierre Cantin
    Raymond Caron
    Marc-André Forcier
    Pierre Nepveu
    Ray Ellenwood
    Betty Bednarski
    John Grube
    Jean-Claude Germain
    Paul Sidoun
    Denise Champagne
    Juan-Carlos Negrete
    Pierre L'Hérault
  • cast
    Jean-Daniel Lafond
    Valérie Apollon
    Laurent Pichette
    Rosalie Vangyseghem
    Martin Bourassa
    Pierre A. Lebreux-Richard
    Richard Durocher
    Stéphane Mayer
    Diane Lefrançois
  • researcher
    Babalou Hamelin
    Jean-Daniel Lafond
  • picture editing
    Babalou Hamelin
  • sound editing
    Martin Pinsonnault
    Claire Pochon
    Anton Fischlin
  • production manager
    Alain Thériault
  • assistant director
    Babalou Hamelin
  • assistant camera
    Luc Lussier
    Ugo Brochu
  • head gaffer
    Marc Bonin
  • gaffer
    Julien Brisebois
    Martin Dupuis
    Martine Guillard
  • sets
    Alain Cadieux
    Nadjia Vranjes
  • scene painting
    Alain Cadieux
    Nadjia Vranjes
  • canoe manager
    Mario Marchand
  • horse handler
    Laurent Pichette
    Line Béland
    Guy Grandchamps
  • generator operator
    Yves Ouimet
  • location manager
    Gilles Dubuc
  • production assistant
    Bénédicte Laflamme
    Maxence Bradley
    Claude Thériault
    Éric Savard
    Benoît Thériault
    Claude Filion
  • additional director of photography
    Serge Giguère
  • additional location sound
    Diane Carrière
  • additional camera assistant
    François Tessier
    Mylène Girard
    Pierre Lachapelle
  • additional gaffer
    Luc Dupont
  • mini-DV camera operator
    Jean-Daniel Lafond
  • additional production manager
    Sylvie Lapointe
    Anne-Marie Tougas
  • still photographer
    Michel La Veaux
  • narrator
    Jean-Daniel Lafond
  • narration recording
    Geoffrey Mitchell
  • foley
    Simon Meilleur
  • translation
    Fred A. Reed
  • subtitles
    Christine York
  • editing technical support
    Martine Chamberland
  • online editing
    Denis Pilon
    Denis Gathelier
  • re-recording
    Serge Boivin
    Jean Paul Vialard
  • titles
    Louise Overy
  • computer graphics
    Louise Overy
  • marketing officer
    David Boisclair
    Joanne Carrière
  • administrator
    Denise DesLauriers
  • administrative staff
    Hélène Regimbal
    Lise Lévesque
    Marie-Christine Guité
  • technical coordinator
    Jean-François Laprise
  • line producer
    Johanne Bergeron
  • executive producer
    Yves Bisaillon


Enjoy the NFB experience on your favourite device. 

The Cabinet of Doctor Ferron
Also available

Embed this code on your site

Video player width

by Reset