The NFB is committed to respecting your privacy

We use cookies to ensure that our site works efficiently, as well as for advertising purposes.

If you do not wish to have your information used in this way, you can modify your browser settings before continuing your visit.

Learn more
Assholes - A Theory

Assholes - A Theory

| 1 h 20 min
Assholes - A Theory
Purchase options
Also available
Already paid to see this film?

Some grapple with the challenge of treating other human beings decently. Others are just… assholes, claims Professor Aaron James in his New York Times bestselling book, Assholes: A Theory. This intellectually provocative film takes a playful approach to uncovering why asshole behaviour is on the rise in the workplace, in government, and at home.

  • project inspiration
    Aaron James
  • director
    John Walker
  • narration
    John Walker
  • writer
    John Walker
    Robert Sandler
  • producer
    Ann Bernier
    Annette Clarke
    John Walker
  • cinematographer
    Paul McCurdy
  • editor
    Jeff Warren
  • composer
    Sandy Moore
  • animation
    Ron McDougall
  • location sound
    Jim Rillie
  • sound design
    Alex Salter
    Donald Walls
  • interviewee
    Aaron James
    Aimée Morrison
    Robert Hockett
    Paul Purcell
    John Cleese
    Sherry Lee Benson-Podolchuk
    Suji Gelerman
    Robert I. Sutton
    Geoffrey Nunberg
    Johnathan Gilmore
    Sherry F. Colb
    Saule Omarova
    Bill Emmott
    Edoardo Albinati
    Lorella Zanardo
    Tim Parks
    Piercamillo Davigo
    Vladimir Luxuria
    Leslie Miley
    Bethanye McKinney Blount
    Mary Sarnataro
    Giuseppe Falsone
    Leslie Dixon
    Russ Laraway
    Gad Lerner
    Paul Russell
    Kim Scott
    Beatrice Maria 'Bebe' Vio
    Luigi Zoja
  • researcher
    Valerie Mansour
    Elena Dal Pra
    Oliver Neidhart
  • visual researcher
    Elspeth Domville
  • story consultant
    Merrily Weisbord
  • development consultant
    Louise Rosen
  • studio interview and streeter
    Caleb Cechota
    Julienne Cordy
    Rob Delano
    Kevin Michael Dunford
    Dakota Gamble
    Alejandro Chupina
    Austin Hare
    Rebecca Johnson
    David Lewis
    Martin Morrow
    Peggy Richardson
    Christian Rivera
    Enze Yang
    Voncile Brown-Miller
    Roxxy Dowell
    Quinnesh Dowling
    Bea Fields
    Fabian Hodrick
    John Lopez
    Cynthia Masetto
    Douglas Prideaux
    Ammons E. Smith
    Shane K. Smith
    Ryan Taglianetti
  • additional photography
    Idan Menin
    Becky Parsons
    Will Pugh
  • drone operator
    Matt Lavin
  • camera assistant
    Sophie Lemoine
    Melisse Sporn
  • additional sound recording
    Stephen Hopkins
    Max Hirtenstein
    Juan Nunez
  • location production assistant
    Amanda Bernhardt
    Kristen Degirolamo
    Kanishka Gulati
    Bjorn Jakobson
    David La Haye
    Marina Cunha Martins
    Christopher Morgan
    Patrick David Orr
    Livia Sa
    Stefano Santamato
  • casting agency
    Erin Hennessey
    Ken Lazer
  • trailer editor
    Chris Turner
  • production manager
    Ann Bernier
  • production coordinator
    Kelsey Power
    Amy Trefry
    Danielle Noble
    Cheryl Murgatroyd
  • intern
    Bronwen McKie
  • coordinator
    Francesco Lonardi
  • production accountant
    Angie Kokic
  • english transcription
    Michelle McStay
    Andrew Bateman
  • italian transcription / translation
    Tidal Transcreative
  • production supervisor
    Roz Power
  • technical coordinator
    Daniel Lord
    Christopher MacIntosh
  • marketing manager
    Johanna Lessard
  • publicist
    Patricia Dillon-Moore
  • studio administrator
    Leslie Anne Poyntz
  • chamber ensemble
    Susan Sayle
    Étienne Chénard
    Norman Adams
    Eileen Walsh
    Michael Donovan
    Sandy Moore
  • jazz ensemble
    Silvio Pupo Montero
    Damien Moynihan
    Lukas Pearse
    Ken MacKay
  • music recording studio
    The Sonic Temple
  • music mixing
    The Sonic Temple
  • audio engineer
    Darren Van Niekerk
  • recording assistant
    Scott MacKey
    Takoda Sullivan
    Connor MacLeod
  • film mix
    National Film Board of Canada
  • re-recording
    Shelley Craig
  • MIDI technician
    Donald Walls
  • technician
    Donald Walls
  • scoring
    Alex Arnold
  • technical
    Justin Gaudreault
  • dialogue editor
    Bob Melanson
  • narration recording
    Matt Dawson
    The Hideout Studios
  • graphic design
    Ron McDougall
  • website design
    Ron McDougall
  • assistant editor
    David Mullins
  • post-production coordinator
    Kelsey Power
  • visual post-production facility
    902 Post Inc.
  • colourist
    Doug Woods
  • online editor
    Doug Woods
  • assistant on-line editor
    Carter Thurber
  • dailies
    Robert Carrigan
  • legal counsel
    Robert Aske
  • accounting services
    Patricia Dyson
  • insurance
    Paul Lipkus
    Front Row Insurance Brokers Inc.
  • senior director, documentary
    Sandra Kleinfeld
  • production executive
    Jordana Ross



Pedagogical evaluations and study guides for this work are only available to CAMPUS subscribers.


Features designed specifically for teachers. Learn more

Already subscribed? Sign in

Embed this code on your site

Video player width

by Reset