The NFB is committed to respecting your privacy

We use cookies to ensure that our site works efficiently, as well as for advertising purposes.

If you do not wish to have your information used in this way, you can modify your browser settings before continuing your visit.

Learn more
Skip to content

Embed this code on your site

Video player width

by Reset
New release

Kímmapiiyipitssini: The Meaning of Empathy

2021 2 h 4 min
Leaving soon

Witness the work of community members with substance-use disorder, first responders, and health professionals in the Kainai First Nation as they bring hope and change through harm reduction to Blackfoot people.

Sorry this content is not available in your current location.
Your rental expires on
You've already purchased this film.
Download it from My purchases.
Not available
Kímmapiiyipitssini: The Meaning of Empathy



Follow filmmaker Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers as she creates an intimate portrait of her community and the impacts of the substance use and overdose epidemic. Witness the change brought by community members with substance-use disorder, first responders and medical professionals as they strive for harm reduction in the Kainai First Nation.
  • writer
    Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers
  • director
    Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers
  • producer
    Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers
    David Christensen
    lori lozinski
  • executive producer
    David Christensen
  • director of photography
    Patrick McLaughlin
  • editor
    Hans Olson
  • composer
    Chandra Melting Tallow
  • animation illustrator
    Karlene Harvey
  • animator
    Aparna Kapur
  • production supervisor
    Esther Viragh
  • studio administrator
    Devon Supeene
    Bree Beach
  • studio operations manager
    Darin Clausen
  • production coordinator
    Jessica Smith
    Hilda Amponsah
    Tanis Redcrow
    Faye Yoneda
  • marketing manager
    Kay Rondonneau
  • publicist
    Katja De Bock
  • legal counsel
    Christian Pitchen
  • participant
    Dr. Esther Tailfeathers
    Kirby Manyfingers
    Tim Tailfeathers
    Darwin Fisher
    Lynda LaPretre
    Tyler Bigchild
    Michelle Wishart
    Dr. Christy Sutherland
    Tod Spencer
    Pam Little Bear
    Lori Eagle Plume
    Melanie Old Shoes
    Mariah Shouting
    Kenneth Wood
    Sonjae Bare Shin Bone
    Leah Crazybull
    George Calling Last
    Maggie Kronen
    Mike Fox
    Stephanie Brown Weasel
    Dallas Hindbull
    Robyn Fox-Oka
    Robert Calf
    Sean Chief Moon
    Bryan Smith
    Ky Bird-Shouting
    Jeremy Weasel Moccasin
    Roxi White Quills
    Chief Roy Fox
    Shae Standing Alone
    Kalon Sharp Adze
    Geraldine Shade
    Nolan Little Bear
    Rady Goodrider
    Stacey Bourque
    Lloyd Chief Calf
    Travis Bird
    Mark Brave Rock
    Gina Hunt
    Sylvester "Sly" Daniels
    Marcia White Quills
    Lynda Eagle Speaker
    Kevin Cowan
    Jacen Abrey
    Lani Blackwater
    Trinity White Feathers
    Sergeant John Connor
    Virginia Tailfeathers
    Lester Tailfeathers
    Eline Van Munt
    Leslie Wells
    Kara Eagle Bear
    Warren Potts
    Jeff Fox
    Chantelle Vailleres
    Leonard Chief Moon
    Austin Tallman
    Jagger Eagle Plume
    Judy Sept
    Tyler Chief Calf
    Lorne Taylor
    Baby Boy
  • additional photography
    Damien Eagle Bear
    Joshua Manyheads
    Soloman Chiniquay
    Arnell Tailfeathers
    Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers
  • sound recordist
    Brad Martin
    Alex Mitchell
    Charlene Moore
    Ron Osiowy
    Arnell Tailfeathers
    Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers
    Jeff Henschel
    Francesco Russo
  • production assistant
    Leonard Provost
    Arnell Tailfeathers
    Madison Tailfeathers
    Deserae Yellow Horn
  • location manager
    Leonard Provost
    Arnell Tailfeathers
  • production stills photographer
    Arnell Tailfeathers
  • impact producer
    Robyn Weasel Bear
  • directing and producing mentee
    Jade Baxter
    Olivia Marie Brooks
    Tristin Greyeyes
  • elder
    Francis First Charger
    Beverly Hungry Wolf
  • cultural support
    Francis First Charger
    Beverly Hungry Wolf
  • indigenous history and policy workshop facilitator
    Faye Morning Bull
  • first assistant editor
    Krystal Moss
  • colourist - mentor
    Sam Gilling
  • colourist mentee
    Soloman Chiniquay
  • titles
    Cheyenne Manning
  • graphic designer
    Cheyenne Manning
  • on-screen graphics
    Asia Youngman
  • sound designer
    Peter Robinson
  • sound designer - mentor
    Eva Madden
  • dialogue editor
    Peter Robinson
  • additional supervising sound editor
    David Green
  • ADR recordist
    Peter Robinson
  • sound mix facility
    Sharpe Studios
  • project manager
    Laurie Melhus
  • sound supervisor
    Kelly Cole
  • re-recording mixer
    May Guimaraes
    Kevin Morales
  • post-production facility
    Elemental Post
  • project supervisor
    Matt Drake
  • finishing artist
    Ryan Mance
  • legal services
    Nathaniel Lyman
  • audit services
    Gemma Davis
  • interim financing
    National Bank of Canada
  • insurance
    Front Row Insurance Brokers Inc.
  • post-production accounting
    Paralee Cook

Enjoy the NFB experience on your favourite device.