Ottawa International Animation Festival

Watch the playlist

About this playlist

The Ottawa International Animation Festival (OIAF) and National Film Board of Canada (NFB) have had a close, intimate relationship dating back to the festival's origins in 1976.

Aside from providing the OIAF with on-going, essential support during the last 35 years, numerous NFB legends have been spotlighted or have served as Honorary Presidents including Norman McLaren during the festival's inaugural year and, most recently, David Verrall, who takes the mantle at this year's OIAF.

Hardly a year goes by when the NFB returns home without pocketing one of the festival's prestigious awards. Three NFB films have come away with the OIAF's Grand Prix (The Street, 1976; Two Sisters, 1992; Ryan, 2004). The films presented in this playlist are just a few examples of NFB films that have had success at the OIAF.

You can be sure there will be many more NFB films added to the list in the years to come.

Chris Robinson
Ottawa International Animation Festival art director