The NFB is committed to respecting your privacy

We use cookies to ensure that our site works efficiently, as well as for advertising purposes.

If you do not wish to have your information used in this way, you can modify your browser settings before continuing your visit.

Learn more

Maintenance Operation
Our online services will be affected or interrupted for a few hours on Thursday, September 28, starting at 7:00 a.m. ET.


This short documentary examines the nuclear disaster that followed the March 11th, 2011 earthquake and tsunami that rocked Japan’s Fukushima Prefecture. That day, Japan was hit with the 5th-strongest earthquake ever recorded, but the real legacy of this disaster is the ensuing nuclear disaster: a series of equipment failures, nuclear meltdowns and releases of radioactive materials from the Fukushima I Nuclear Power Plant. This film tells the story of a chain of errors and oversights that led to the largest nuclear accident since Chernobyl.

  • narrator
    Elizabeth Robertson
  • editor
    Alison Burns
    Yoshinori Tajima
  • narration recording
    Luc Léger
  • mix
    Serge Boivin
  • sound editing
    Daniel Toussaint
  • graphics
    Mélanie Bouchard
    Gaspard Gaudreau
  • titles
    Mélanie Bouchard
    Gaspard Gaudreau
  • online editor
    Denis Gathelier
  • post-production supervisor
    Lucie Charbonneau
    Claudia Betancourt
  • post-production coordinator
    Jean-François Laprise
    Pierre Ferlatte
  • administrator
    Lise Crevier
  • script editor
    Gary Lang
  • producer
    Wally Longul
    Steve Burns
  • director
    Wally Longul
    Akio Suzuki
    Akihiko Nakai
  • advisor
    Hisashi Ninokata
    Hiroshi Miyano
    Isao Kataoka
    Masanori Naitoh
    Yuichiro Tanioka
  • drama cast
    Soryu Konno
    Touta Tawaragi
    Yoshikazu Kawabuchi
    Noriyoshi Tsumura
    Tomochika Izumi
    Kosuke Kujirai
    Kin Seikin
    Masashi Sekito
    Kosuke Takahashi
    Nagamasa Kato
  • drama producer
    Isao Tanikawa
    Hideki Ohno
  • journalist
    Yoshihiro Nemoto
    Yoshiyuki Yamasaki
    Hiroshi Yokokawa
    Kenichiro Okamoto
    Yumiko Sugaya
    Mikio Tanabe
  • camera
    Atsuhiko Ochiai
  • lighting
    Wataru Nakamura
    Keizo Shimogaki
  • sound
    Akihiro Suzuki
  • sound design
    Saori Ono
  • visual effects
    Tomoya Oguchi
  • visual design
    Tsutomu Okabe
  • computer graphics
    Makoto Ikeda
    Masahiro Matsumoto
    Kazuhiko Kobayashi
  • researcher
    Mike Nichoson
  • coordinator
    Su Nan Fang
  • writer
    Akio Suzuki
    Akihiko Nakai
  • executive producer
    Naofumi Nakamura
    Daisuke Takama
    Masahiro Fujikawa



Pedagogical evaluations and study guides are only available to CAMPUS subscribers.


Features designed specifically for teachers. Learn more

Already subscribed? Sign in

Purchase options
Also available
Already paid to see this film? .

Embed this code on your site

Video player width

by Reset