| 1 h 12 min
Your rental expires on
YOU ALREADY OWN THIS FILM. Download it from your purchase library.

The dream machine looks simple enough: a 100-watt light bulb, a motor and a rotating cylinder with cutouts. Just sit in front of it, close your eyes and wait for the visions to come. Its creator, Brion Gysin, believed it would revolutionize human consciousness.

With a custom-made dream machine in tow, director Nik Sheehan takes us on a journey into the life of Brion Gysin – his art, his complex ideas and his friendships with some of the 20th century's key counterculture figures, including his lifelong connection with Beat writer William S. Burroughs.

Featuring greats like singer Marianne Faithfull, singer/artist Genesis P-Orridge of Psychic TV, poet John Giorno, punk rocker Iggy Pop, filmmaker Kenneth Anger and artist/turntablist DJ Spooky, FLicKeR is a hypnotic documentary that asks crucial questions about the nature of art and consciousness – and imagines humanity liberated to explore its creativity in complete freedom.

Embed this code on your site

Video player width

by (( height )) Reset
  • writer
    Nik Sheehan
  • director
    Nik Sheehan
  • producer
    Maureen Judge
    Anita Lee
  • executive producer
    Maureen Judge
    Silva Basmajian
  • director of photography
    Harald Bachmann
  • editor
    Caroline Christie
    Miume Jan Eramo
  • original music
    Edmund Eagan
  • participant
    Kenneth Anger
    Marcus Boon
    Udo Breger
    Catherine Clément
    Ira Cohen
    Brett Despotovich
    John Dunbar
    Sophie Duplaix
    Marianne Faithfull
    John Geiger
    John Giorno
    Michael Innanen
    Jean-Jacques Lebel
    Leila Hadley Luce
    Richard Metzger
    Madame Odillard
    Genesis P-Orridge
    Katherine Piro
    Lee Ranaldo
    DJ Spooky
    Iggy Pop
    Psychic TV
    Floria Sigismondi
    Nick Zinner
  • animation
    Tom Hillman
    Jaime Torres
  • sound recording
    Brett Despotovich
    Jason Milligan
    Hartley Wynberg
  • sound editing
    Mark Gingras
    John Laing
    Dale Lennon
  • sound design
    Mark Gingras
    John Laing
    Dale Lennon
  • re-recording
    Daniel Pellerin
  • sound design
    Daniel Pellerin
  • visual research
    Kristina Howard