This is Not a Movie

This is Not a Movie

| 1 h 30 min

For more than 40 years, journalist Robert Fisk has reported on some of the most violent and divisive conflicts in the world.
Yung Chang’s This Is Not a Movie captures Fisk in action—feet on the ground, notebook in hand, as he travels into landscapes devastated by war, ferreting out the facts and firing reports back home to reach an audience of millions. The process of translating raw experience into incisive and passionate dispatches requires the determination to see things first-hand and the tenacity to say what others won’t. In his relentless pursuit of the facts, Fisk has attracted his share of controversy. But in spite of the danger, he has continued to cover stories as they unfold, talking directly to the people involved. In an era of fake news, when journalists are dubbed “the enemies of the people,” Fisk’s resolve to document reality has become an obsessive war to speak the truth.

This film contains scenes of violence. Viewer discretion is advised.

Embed this code on your site

Video player width

by (( height )) Reset
  • writer
    Yung Chang
  • director
    Yung Chang
  • producer
    Anita Lee
    Allyson Luchak
    Nelofer Pazira
    Ingmar Trost
  • editor
    Mike Munn
  • cinematography
    Duraid Munajim
  • original music
    Ohad Benchetrit
    Justin Small
  • executive producer
    Anita Lee
    Julie Goldman
    Christopher Clements
  • associate producer
    Kate Vollum
    John Griffith
  • participant
    Robert Fisk
    General Jihad Sultan
    Antranik Helvadjian
    Suheil Natour
    Nirmeen Hazineh
    Tsoleen Sarian
    Lt. Finian Everard
    Vesna Almog
    Ifet Krnjic
    Adis Ikanovic
    Amira Solh
    Amer Mrayati
    Lamiaa Al Saad
    Amira Hass
    Antony Loewenstein
    Chaim Silberstein
    Sulieman Khatib
  • sound recordist
    Daniel Hewett
    Jason Porter
    Rami Al Dulli
  • visual researcher
    Tanya Fleet
  • archival research
    Nelofer Pazira
    Lucas Dowling
  • researcher
    Jackie Corkery
    Jonah Engle
  • re-recording mixer
    Matthias Lempert
  • sound design
    Mirko Reinhard